Rescue cat - refeeding syndrome?

Chainreaver

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone!

There has been a stray in our neighborhood for the past months, which me and my boyfriend managed to trap and bring home tonight. We think it's a female based on her size, but we are not sure, as the cat is very skinny, and long-haired, so it's hard to see what's hidden under the tail. The poor has lost a lot of hair and has some wounds. We've been in touch with the local shelter who will pick her up tomorrow, as it's 3 am here now (Denmark).
However, she was super hungry so we've fed her a bag of wetfood and a handfull of dryfood. And 150 ml-ish of cat milk.

It just came to my mind, that as with humans, cats are also in risk of developing refeeding-syndrome if they start eating too many calorie, too fast, when being underweight and malnourished. But this is my first time rescuing a cat, so I don't have much experience.

So my question is, should I hold back on feeding her, what are your thoughts/experiences?

Thank you. Here are some pictures of the poor baby

Attachments

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Chainreaver

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Also, she seeks me out, and wants me to pet her and starts purring, but all of a sudden she starts hissing (even though im not petting her different or anything). Anyone knows what these mixed signals means? 😅 I am a bit confused. Right now she's sleeping next to my lap🤷🏻‍♀️

heatherwillard0614

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I really dont know anything about your first question..
For your second inquiry:
How long are you petting her before she starts hissing?
Are you doing dull body strokes?

Chainreaver

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Yes I'm doing dull body strokes. I just petted her for a long time, and she even let me pet her stomach. I did it all very carefully, and suddenly she hissed again. Maybe she tries telling me to keep a little distance, as she might have some trust issues 🤷🏻‍♀️ idk.