Caring for abandoned/orphaned kittens

wonderstruck016

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone. I have just taken in 3 abandoned/orphaned kittens that were born in my neighborhood. They look to be about 3 weeks old and each weigh about 10 oz.

I have been feeding them KMR every 3 hours and they have gradually worked up to eating 10-15cc at each feeding. They have gotten quite good at suckling from the bottle.

I have had them for a little bit over 24 hours and none of them have pooped. I have been stimulating them after feedings and I'm wondering if this is normal?

Also, 2 of the cats are male and are peeing very easily. The female cat (who I am hoping to keep) is only peeing a couple of drops when stimulated. She is eating/drinking plenty and does not otherwise seem dehydrated. Is this cause for concern?

Thank you! I am totally new to kittens and cats so this is quite the adventure ... 

krissy marissy

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Right now it's hard to say because these kittens were likely not getting the amount of food they are now, their body may be using most of it and therefore their bathroom habits are a bit inconsistent right now?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

wonderstruck016

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise

Right now it's hard to say because these kittens were likely not getting the amount of food they are now, their body may be using most of it and therefore their bathroom habits are a bit inconsistent right now?
Thank you. When do you think it would become cause for concern if they haven't pooped or if the female continues only peeing a few drops? She also meows/cries loudly when I stimulate her.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
They are probably adjusting from mom's milk to formula, and as Krissy said, may have missed a few meals.