Total Novice Falling For Stray Cat

completecatnovice

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello all! Figured this was the place to come for advice from knowledgeable cat lovers.
Sorry, this is a long one....

To start with, I'm have a cat allergy and have therefore never spent enough time with cats to know even the first thing about them. So when porch kitty showed up when I was moving into my house last fall, I was tickled at the attention, but did nothing to encourage her. I was moving boxes in little by little over several weeks and she'd often show up, rub all over my pants legs, and try (and often succeed) to follow me in the door while I was carrying the boxes. I didn't really pet her (except with a leaf or a towel occasionally) but I'd talk to her and laugh at her antics. Then one day I showed up at the house with my large dog. She gave me the dirtiest look a cat can muster and ran off. I barely saw her at all for the next 5 months or so. Occasionally I’d see her on the porch of the house two doors down when I’d walk my dog. She would shrink down when she’d see my dog and just sort of watch us walk by, but that was it... Until about 2 weeks ago.
Suddenly one evening she reappeared on my porch. Over the next several days I went from:
1. just saying hello
2. to petting her with a soft object
3. to taking (multiple) allergy medications so I could pet her with my hand for 5 or 10 min
4. to leaving a bowl of water out for her
5. to peeking outside multiple times a day to check on her
6. to letting her snuggle every evening for an hour or more
7. to buying her cat food and feeding her once a day
8. to setting up an insulated box for her to sleep in
9. to buying a cat toy and playing with her daily
10. to feeding her twice a day and giving her turkey treats

So that escalated quickly!