Thinking Of Getting A Kitten

aliceneko

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
As a fellow first time cat owner (my mother has had cats before, but it's my first time with feline friends), I would perhaps say that you should be more lenient about dirt coming into the house. Whilst it's not pleasant having outside mess come onto your house; kittens can make some mess and we have to hoover regularly. My two mainly make litter mess though (i.e. when they tread on their litter we often find it around the living room). My two are still house cats though when it gets warmer we're planning to let them outside, and they don't make an incredible amount of mess. If you live with other people though, I would ask them their opinions as I think that everyone needs to be on board with the cat so that it can have a fully loving home - not that I'm saying that you will mistreat it, but it's just something to consider :) Good luck with your little kitten though, I love Siberians!

foxxycat

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Honeybee on my lap, music playing in background
Cats DO track in dirt and make messes. So don't get a cat if you can't stand dirt on your floors. And I won't comment about the dogs tied up outside. Cats like to chase things and knock things over, dig in plants-not always=but they can. The kitty litter from the cat box will drive you bonkers. Spraying chemicals to clean could hurt the animals more than you think. My suggestion=volunteer at a shelter or rescue to get your cat fix. Bringing one into your home and have it be scared because it gets yelled at or shut in a room is no life for a cat. I hope you take the time to think this through-one must weigh the plus and minus and see where one can reasonably put up with the issues. Sometimes cats are friendly, some are scared...it is really a guessing game despite the raising of the kittens. each cat has it's own personality.