Raising a 1-Day-Old Orphaned Kitten

Poppy Seisaki

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Four days ago, my sister and I found a newborn kitten crying all alone on the street. Initially, we looked for her mother or nest but found nothing. When the crying stopped, I picked her up, and she was so cold. I immediately bought kitten milk and placed her in a sterilized space with warm thermal blankets. I'm quite new to this and feel overwhelmed by the challenge of raising such a small kitten. However, in the past four days, she has been feeding well, managing 2 to 6 ml per meal, and she's been doing her urination and defecation normally. We feed her every 2 hours. Impressively, she has gained around 30 grams in weight, from 107 to 137 grams. The vet told us we could bring her in after about 20 days as she is currently very vulnerable, and even if she were ill, they couldn't administer antibiotics. If anyone has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated. I'm so nervous; I want this little kitten to survive. After all, she's a true fighter!

IMG_0513.jpg

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Apparently you have done very well so far!
She seems to have a good birth weight, and is hopefully healthy. I presume momma dropped her when she carried her to somewhere else. Momma got perhaps spooked of by a loose dog? And didnt dare to return. Which is good for you; its much easier to raise a healthy orphan, than to raise a sickly kitten whom momma lost her hopes for and abandoned....

Really the two advices I would say in the beginning: dont feed when the kitten cold... but you CAN smear a droplet of white caro syrup on the gum...
And the kitten must have a heat source, a blanket isnt enough....

As the kitten did survived and is thriwing - you must have managed.... The daily gaining should be 10+ grammes.
The daily dosage should be about 32 ml a day NOW, more if she wishes. It will be 40 ml / 24 hours, when she is about 150g.

What kmr do you use?
Goats milk is OK too.