Question Of The Day, Sunday, November 5, 2017

micknsnicks2mom

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
good morning! :hellocomputer:

some time this next week i'll be installing a new thermostat. i've never done this before, but it seems simple enough. tonight i've got the installation instructions to print out, and i'll watch a video on doing this too. i like to be prepared! ;)

so for today's Question of the Day......

How would you say you are with following instructions? (can be for anything)

i'll start!

i always do better when i've got the instructions to look at while i'm doing things. of course, they have to be reasonably good instructions, and reasonably good pictures/diagrams are a big help.

when i have reasonably good instructions and/or good pictures/accurate diagrams, i'm good with following instructions. i like to read through the instructions before starting, so i'm familiar with the process.

i've had times where the instructions were excellent, and no problems at all. and then there have been times where i've been much better off discarding the instructions, because they were pretty much unreadable and/or with diagrams that simply made no sense. :nono: there have also been times that no instructions came with an item...:argh: that's quite annoying, but instructions can usually be found online.

okay, now it's your turn!

JamesCalifornia

Mr.Mom to a house of cats 😇😼
Top Cat
Purraise
~ Funny you should ask ! I just replaced my thermostat ( Venstar T-1700 ) . I got the exact same type so I did not have to remove the backplate and fiddle with the wires . Very simple .
As is often the case the ' instructions ' were dismal. Good thing I didn't have to do much .
Be careful removing the thermostat and take cellphone pictures as you go in case you have to reinstall the old one .
Good luck ...! :wave2:

Winchester

In the kitchen with my cookies
Veteran
Purraise