Pregnant female; labor (updated)

Ashleycreech21

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, this is my first time posting. I have a very pregnant female cat, her belly’s dropped really low and her nipples look pretty crusty like they had been leaking. The last day she’s been pacing around crying throughout the day, it’s not too persistent though. I also have an unneutered male cat, he is the dad. I know I should’ve gotten him fixed but all the places near me either wanted $200 or more to do it, I don’t have that money to spend on it, or a long wait but the cost is $55 (it’s a low cost reputable vet), he is scheduled but the earliest I could get him in in April 6th and I scheduled this months ago not long after I got him so please don’t bash me for it. Since she’s been crying he’s been trying to mount her, he bites her neck and kinda pulls hair out. I obviously get him off of her as soon as I see it or hear her getting agitated. I’ve been trying to keep them separated but he always manages to get to her because he’s somehow able to open doors as crazy as that sounds.
So my question is, why is he trying to mate again when she’s already so close to going into labor?

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
He's trying to mate with her simply because he's a male cat. They do that. He should calm down a few weeks after he is neutered and not have such a strong desire to mate as before (although neutered males will also sometimes exhibit mounting behavior).

Your female cat, and her kittens when they are born, need to have their own safe protected space. You need to keep your male out of her space so that he doesn't bother her. If he has access to her, he can even get her pregnant again shortly after birth... and you really don't want that to happen. Can you set her up in a bedroom with everything she needs?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Ashleycreech21

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise