New Member Needing Advice!

abigailjr

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello! Recently, I've been contemplating rescuing an older, more "couch-potato" cat from a local shelter. I'm hesitant about it, because the cat would, most likely, be limited to my room and the upstairs only. I have a master bedroom which is pretty spacious, with five tall windows and a big-ish closet. The upstairs includes a long hallway, two other bedrooms, and a bathroom. The reason the cat would be limited to these areas is because my family owns two small chihuahua's, which are not cat friendly. I'm sure I could build them up to getting along, but currently, they do not get along with cats. I'm just wondering if my cat would be happy if he was confined to one space. I spend almost all of my time in my room besides class and work, which, depending on the day, is from 8 am to 5 pm. Would my cat be happy if I spent all remaining time with him, because I spend it in my room? Please give me advice!

margd

Chula and Paul's roommate
Veteran
Purraise
:hellosmiley:and welcome to TCS! :welcomesign: I think the cat you have in mind would do fine in the living space that you describe. He's older and more sedate, which is perfect. In fact, it sounds like you have more space than I do and I have two younger cats doing very well in my one bedroom apartment. The trick is to make the place cat friendly - toys, scratching posts, cat trees, fascinating things to look at... When you get to that point, we can give you a lot of advice on how to manage that.

From what you describe, you'll be with him quite a bit of the time so that should be okay, as well. Cats sleep between 16 and 20 hours a day so he may just sleep the time away while you are gone. Just be sure to give him plenty of attention while you are home, and include a regular playtime for him.