Never Had A Pregnant Cat

Violetsnotblue

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I took home a stray cat from work about a month ago. She was very small, and skinny, only four pounds, and maybe a foot from head to butt.
The vet said she was healthy, though very under weight, and might be pregnant. I took her a week later to be spayed and they call me an hour later to come pick her up because she was pregnant. They said she would probably give birth in about a month.
It's been about 3 weeks and she is a pretty healthy weight, and her stomach is very big, and I can feel the kittens moving around.
I have lots of experience with cats, but I have never had a pregnant one before because we always get them fixed. I would love some advice on what to do from here. I think she will give birth within the next few days? This is probably her first pregnancy as she is around 8 months. Also any idea how many kittens she may have?
Thank you so much!

maggiedemi

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
One of my childhood cats had 4 kittens, the other one had 2. It was their first pregnancies. So hopefully there won't be more than 4!

catwoman707

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Honestly, no telling how many she will have.
Sometimes the first litter in a young teenager results in only 1 or 2, but other times there are 7.......just ask me, I recently dealt with that one!
Depends on how many 'partners; she had during heat too.

From here, create a couple of nesting spots for her, best is usually a quiet darker closet with the least amt of foot traffic and disturbances and noise. She will choose what she prefers when it's getting close and will likely ignore it until then, showing no interest.

A large box cut down to having sides just 4-5" tall enough so babies will have a barrier that stops them from scooting too far away.
Line the bottom with old towel(s) You don't want something that is fluffy where a baby can get buried in it and end up dying there if not noticed and found by you within a few hours.