My Cats Pregnant & Due Any Time Now!

jadrebskitty

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise

Hi everyone!

I know there’s plenty of threads already on here but this is my first time that I’ve ever had a pregnant cat and I sort of feel like I want actual communication with people as I’m nervous and excited!

So, I have a small female cat who is very pregnant. I took her to the vets on Friday & they carried out a scan. Both the vets and nurses didn’t exactly specify how far along she was as they can’t but they said she’s really pregnant and I should expect kittens within the next few days to a week. They said she’d definitely be having 2, but he thought 3/4 kittens.

I’ve been reading a lot on signs to look out for when they’re ready to give birth, I’ve noticed dried flaky white stuff on her mammary glands which are very prominent, she’s already a vocal cat she’s often chirps as she’s just walking around the house but the past 2 days she’s been doing this very vocal meow occasionally that she did when she was in heat, I notice her wandering around looking for places but I don’t have very many private places for her to go. She sleeps a lot more and wants to be near me but seems a bit more less tolerant with fuss and she’s now sleeping in one of her nest boxes for the first time.

She’s struggling to sit / lay properly now and looks uncomfortable. I guess I’m not really asking anything specifically but I really am desperate to be present in case I’m needed in any unlikely event. I’ll attach a picture of how she was sat this morning. Any advice or comments welcome!

Thank you xxx

Attachments

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
She’s pretty! The white flaky stuff sounds like it could be dried milk. Milk production starts about a day or two before delivery, so it does sound like she’s getting very close!

This article has some helpful info: How Do I Know When My Cat Will Give Birth?

Keep us updated!

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise