Your Opinion On Grain Free Food?

Haileyb26

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I started feeding my cat grain free food, but I'm wondering if grain free food is truly necessary?
He has respiratory issues, so I thought it might be a food allergy, but he doesn't seem much different. I was thinking about maybe trying the science diet next, but I'm still learning what's truly best to feed my cat.

Kieka

Snowshoe Servant
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Cats are obligated carnivores, they have evolved to be biologically suited to eat a diet high in protein and low in carbs. A diet with a high carb content will likely lead totweight retention and can have negative impact on a cats overall well being. Cats also get very little nutitional benefit from carb or starch sources like peas, potato's and grains because their system isnt built to process them.

Grain free is a catch phrase to sell food without grains which is seen as the main contributor of carbs in human perception. However, a grain free food can still have potatoes, millet, peas, etc. All of which are also not biologically appropriate or beneficial.

Essentially, grain free is a good starting point but as currently applied it tends to be gimicky. The underlaying theory is sound but application needs some work.

Personally, the ideal commercial cat diet is something labeled as grain free and limited ingredient because that will minimize the additional fillers added into the diet. Although you need to readrlabels because the definition on "limited" tends to vary. In dry food I look for a single protein and single binder. In wet, a single protein and vitamins needed to balance nutrition. If you've been having suspected food sensitivity issues I'd try a novel protein, grain fee, limited ingredient before switching to science diet. Remember that it can take 30 days for changes to be noticable when it comes to food related problems.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Haileyb26

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise