Worried about having kittens outside

CatOwner Triplets

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi All.

I'm new to the cat owner game, I've never thought I would be a cat person but my 3 kittens (brother and sisters) which are aged around 8-10 months have won me over and are the apple of my eye.

2x Females
1x Male

So I have them in a big garage and I'm trying to slowly let them outside to get use to the outside area. I live in the country side, front of the house has a small lawn with a main road (not the busies road) but out the back there's fields and ditches as far as the eye can see BUT my issue is I cannot get them to stick to the back and they keep going to the front and I don't want them near the road. I know they are just exploring but I don't want them to get a nasty habit.

They also get to excited to be outside that they just completely ignore me and my calls.

Any advice for me?

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
For the most part, indoor/outdoor cats will go where they want too and come back when they want too. For me, that sometimes meant 18 hour absences in the warm weather. It is panic inducing the first couple of times it happens. Others have had absences of days. Also a bit panic inducing for me when a cat would stay out overnight in nasty weather, especially when it was very cold, although if they have access to the garage because its open or a cat door that would help with that. If you are going to have indoor/outdoor cats, it goes with the territory.