Who here is multilingual?

cougar

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I was just reading a post by fwan, and it got me thinking. Who here on TCS speaks more than one language? I myself plan on learning Japanese! How about you?

Later,
Brandon

jcat

Mo(w)gli's can opener
Veteran
Purraise
My native language is English, but I speak fluent German, too, since I studied German Lit., am married to a German, and have lived here almost half my life. I understand a lot of Spanish (I had seven years of it in high school and college, and my dad spent much of his childhood in Puerto Rico), but it has gotten so rusty that I don't dare speak it anymore. My Spanish-speaking colleagues address me in Spanish, and I answer in German, unless it's something easy. Japanese is supposedly very difficult. A former colleague (English married to a Japanese woman) moved to Tokyo last year, and his emails describing his attempts to really learn Japanese are hysterical. He's doing okay with the spoken language, but finds the written language to be a book with seven seals.

turtlecat

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I speak 7 and can read 10. that used to be more, but I've since forgotten cyrillic.
and I can speak a little japanese :p

gargoyle

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I studied Russian in college but have forgotten most of it ("use it or lose it").

I've made several forays into learning German but have not gotten terribly far. I have someone I can practice with, if I ever get my act together

--marion

kev

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I can speak pure Yorkshire - being from Yorkshire - does that count against English???
alreet?
K

myrage

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise