What's the latest that most vet clinics will abort?

Umerwhat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
As the title asks, what is the typical cut off for giving a cat an abortion? Also, at what point should the mom's safety be a concern?

We finally caught one of the last 2 unspayed females at the cat colony down my road. She slipped away from me briefly when I tried to transfer her to our spare bathroom. In that little struggle I could feel a very round abdomen. I'm not very experienced in telling how far along pregnant cats are. Compared to the pregnant cat I took care of last year, I would guess she feels as big as she did when she was 3-4 weeks out. I'm also really concerned as last year, the first of that colony had kittens on March 14th. We had a warm spell early January as well. I'm not positive if she'll cooperate for me to take pictures. At the moment I'm trying to give her some quiet time so she isn't so stressed.

We have the spay appointment this Thursday. It sounds like the local vet does have a cutoff line, but I have no idea what it is. I don't feel like they would do an unnecessarily risky abortion, but I guess I'd feel better hearing a second opinion on what the norm is. Thank you to anyone who is able to give any insight.

Kris107

Cat mom, cat foster mom
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I would think that if late it would almost be like a c section. Actually, regardless, isn't it just a c section? I took a cat in who was already pretty round. I guess your vet will determine!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Umerwhat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Are c sections considered reasonably safe in cats? Well compared to giving birth anyways?

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Some vets will abort right up to the end when the kittens must be euthanized. Others will refuse to spay and terminate the last 2-3 weeks when the kittens are getting full fur and are almost fully developed.