What Were You Doing 30 Years Ago Today?

sarahp

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I was 11 days away from being born

Needless to say, I wasn't around for any Beatles-mania.

rubsluts'mommy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I was 8 years old, and it was a Monday (I had to go look that up). I didn't really know about them back then, because my mother hated what she referred to as those D*** Hippies. Not much Beatles came into our house until I had enough money to buy my own records. I don't remember how i heard about them... I know by the time I graduated high school a decade later, I had one of the greatest hits collections. I loved John.. well, I loved all of them... but whenever I hear Imagine I tear up. Same for Hey Jude. My first concert was Julian Lennon's (son with Cynthia) Secret Value of Daydreaming tour.

libby74

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
DarkMavis;2978675 said:
And say what you will, but the love he and Yoko had for each other is one of those loves most people only dream of.. QUOTE]

I agree with you 100%.

eilcon

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I was a freshman in high school and in the hospital recovering from an emergency appendectomy. I remember seeing it on the news.

tara g

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I wasn't even thought of yet (and wouldn't be for another 7 years
) but I have read about John Lennon's murder. Very tragic.

grogs

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I was 7, so I was about halfway through the 2nd grade in Texas. My parents were into country music, so it didn't even register with me. I became a Beatles fan much later in life.

natalie_ca

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I was 18 and living with my brother and his wife. We were watching a taped movie and the phone rang: It was my cousin Raymond. He had just heard that John Lennon had been shot. We sat there utterly stunned.

nanner

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise