What To Teach A Kitten

freyax1

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I just got a 2 month old kitten and it is my first time ever having a kitten! He is so sweet.

I would like to teach him some things when he is young that will help him when he is an adult but I don't know where to start. I was thinking to potty train him on the toilet when he is young, but he might be too tiny to jump to the toilet and I don't know if thats in his best interest.

Or perhaps starting on brushing his teeth or walking on a leash? What do you recommend is best to teach now rather than later?

Ardina

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Kittens are so much fun! Definitely take lots of pictures because they grow up faster than you think.

In terms of training, here are some things that would be useful to teach early on:
- Coming when called - really handy if you ever can't find him
- Tolerating being picked up, brushed, paws handled, and claws clipped.
- Setting a good routine at bedtime so he doesn't wake you up at night - play session, then dinner, then sleep.
- Never play with him using your hands, feet, or other body parts. Always use a wand-type toy so he associates hands with petting and treats, not things to attack.
- Getting him used to strangers - have friends visit you and make it a good experience for him with playtime and treats so he's not afraid of new people
- Leash training if you plan on walking him regularly. Make sure to use a properly sized harness though, not a collar, and keep it snug!
- Brushing teeth would be good too! That one may take a lot of work and patience (and you might need to wait until he's a bit older and calm enough to sit still for long enough). Maybe start with handling his mouth first.