What To Do With A Needy Howling Old Cat?!?!

BusyBeeDD

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am new to being a cat owner--I just married/moved in with my husband who has a 15 year old cat (Cuddles). From what I understand Cuddles has always been sweet but very needy and vocal. He grew up with my husband's family who gave him attention every time he meowed/howled and let him sleep in their bed

About 8 months ago my husband moved with his two cats and one of them passed away shortly after. Since then the needy behaviors Cuddles already had have been amplified and he "meows/howls" whenever we are home and all night long. He has been taken to two different vets who both gave him a clean bill of health.

We have been trying to reinforce good habits (being quite and not following us) by giving love, play time and treats and ignoring the bad habits (howling, standing underfoot) for the last month or so but have seen no improvement. If anything he has gotten more insistent (howling more frequently, jumping up on the table while we are eating, clawing under the bedroom door).

I understand he went through some traumatic events (moving, death of the other cat)--but that was all 7 months ago. How long can he keep this up, and what can we do to help him to stop? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

--he has a heated blanket, cat tree, many toys, and three guinea pig friends he enjoys watching. He currently eats chicken wet food, but we have tried introducing small amounts of other foods to no avail.

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise
If it were my cat I would compromise recognizing he a senior kitty who lost and lonely without his companion and living through a bunch of other changes in his environment . Any change is hard on cats but especially difficult on an old cat.