We adopted an 8-month old colony/feral cat - and are frustrated

KathyJB

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi - I'm new to the CatSite, and have been reading a lot of the posts about socializing a feral cat. Not only here, but all over the internet. I feel like I've taken 10 steps forward, and 9 steps back in our attempts to help our Siamese adjust to life indoors, with people - just me and my husband. I'll try to keep it short, but it's difficult. I'm a newbie at cat ownership; my husband has had several Siamese over the years (before we met). She was about 8 months old when we adopted her through a local rescue organization. We've had her with us for 3 months now, so she's nearing 1 year old. We first met her in her foster home, where she had been for 5 weeks. She had been part of a colony; the cats were gradually being rounded up and adopted out, after being chipped, spayed, etc. The foster family had been caring for her, and carried her around a lot in a sort of baby sling. They said she liked sleeping next to their cat, and liked the husband. She was very timid, but would come out to the kitchen sometimes. The main thing the foster mom stressed to us was to get her out of her hiding spot every day and handle her.