Unfriendly Feral Cat With New Babies

Coleen foster mom

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello. I am new to this site. I have been fostering dogs and for 25+ years. We only foster cats now. We built a cat room in our basement. It's like a kitty wonderland. I've had feral mom's with babies but the moms were very friendly. I now have a mom who was originally friendly. She had the babies and now she is very protective and nervous. She was growling and Even attacked me. I only go into her room now wearing boots and welding gloves. The babies are 3 weeks old and should soon start eating wet foods. They are too young to be separated. Does anyone have a suggestion on how to care for the babies with the mom in the same room?

ondine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Oh, boy - the super-protective mom. Blessings on you for helping her, even if she doesn't appreciate it.

Is there a way you can distract her when you go into the room? Or perhaps isolate her so you can handle the kittens? Maybe you can set up a crate and give her treats in it when you need to.

They will need socializing and it sounds like she isn't trusting enough of humans to allow this.

You might also post this thread over in Pregnant Cats and Kittens. The people who use that forum have lots more experience than I do.

jcat

Mo(w)gli's can opener
Veteran
Purraise
This thread has been moved to PC&K. Are mom and the kittens in a box? If so, is part of one side cut out so the kittens can get out and move around? It's a big help if you can pick the kittens up off the floor when they're away from mom, and not have to reach in and get them when they're beside her. She's probably extremely nervous because they're starting to wander away from her, but she'll settle down.