Terrible accident.

stella1234

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello,

This is my first time on this site but I feel comfortable among the fellow cat/animal lovers here. I've been a life long cat owner, from 5 years old to the present day, and I have a huge love and respect for them.

Yesterday was a terribly sad day - I was driving down the street and ran over a cat on a semi busy road, it ran so quickly that I barely saw it out of the corner of my eye before it was too late. I was in shock and pulled over, with the help of strangers and my boyfriend who was in the passenger seat, we found the cat who ran into a yard. I brought my car around and I took him to a vet, which was closed (I didn't think to call ahead I wasn't thinking)...I then called around and found an open vet a few blocks away. We took the cat there and waited. He had no collar but luckily had a microchip and the owners were called. When my boyfriend and I knew the owners were on their way, we left. I called the vet later that day and found out the cat had not made it. I will always know that I caused this pain and can't believe I took this life and I will never ever forget the way the car moved when it struck him. This is very difficult to write, this is also affecting me deeply. I feel stuck in a place where I want to turn back time but I can't. What can I do to make this better?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

stella1234

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have never hit an animal before, I would swerve to avoid hitting anything from a bird to a squirrel to anything. I never thought this would happen.

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Stella, I'm so sorry this happened, but please don't blame yourself. You didn't hit the cat deliberately and you did everything you did to help him. Very few people would have even stopped, let alone tried to find the cat and take him to a vet. He could have died alone out in the cold, but because of your consideration for him at least he passed away relatively easily.