Talkin' bout catnip!

nano

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
What brands do you use? I'm still learning but so far Nano's favorite is "Pet Gold Catnip Organic Treat For Cats". I also use "Whisker City Catnip Mist" as a spray but she doesn't seem as keen about it. I also have a bag of ground "Catnip" (homegrown?) that I got in a complimentary grab-bag for donating to a local shelter but haven't tried to use it yet. What brands work well for you?

How do you store it? I store all the catnip in a cabinet that is cool and dark. hissy suggested to me that I keep them in the freezer for better freshness -- but is that for store-bought catnip or for homegrown stuff? The commercial stuff has already sat on the shelf for months, and now I guess it is already too late for that bag of homegrown catnip I got in the gift bag.
But I could start doing better in the future.

Does anyone grow catnip? I don't have any garden space but if there is a way to grow it inside using trays I could give it a shot. Or do people order fresh catnip direct over the internet?

Any other ideas about catnip?
I'm just looking for basic information and what has worked best for other people.

talon

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I am going to try and grow some catnip this year, so I don't have any experience with it as of yet. Currently our cats seem so prefer "Kookamunga Catnip" - 100% natrual (not sure what else would be in it!) but the kitties love it.

cloud_shade

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My boyfriend grew a good-sized plant in a hanging basket a few years ago. It's still going (the cats are indoor only) and the hanging basket keeps it out of the way of the other cats.

My kitties usually get Cosmic Catnip. When I misplace the container, they get whatever brand the grocery store has. They don't seem to notice the difference.

sharky

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
My oldest likes all the organic cat nips ... I use only the spray for younger one she is hyper as it is

pat

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise