Sudden Change In 4y/o Cat's Behaviour

mrpickles

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
IMG_3532.JPG
^^ this is smudge!

hi all! I'm a newbie here, and I have a bit of a problem.
My 4 year old male cat Smudge has had a sudden change in behaviour and it's affecting the other animals in our home. Smudge has never been keen on dogs, but has always been civil with other pets and grew up around both male and female cats, yet we have had to separate our 7 month old male and Smudge due to Smudge repeatedly attacking him - resulting in minor injuries for both the younger cat and myself. Smudge has never been an aggressive cat - always extremely affectionate towards all humans including strangers, and always civil with other animals. So this behaviour is new. Smudge never had a problem with Mr Pickles (the 7 month old male) when we were introducing them gradually and tended to ignore him. But since Mr Pickles has been neutered Smudge can't be in the same room as him without attacking.

As well as this sudden aggressive behaviour, Smudge (who is a white cat with green eyes - not born deaf) has recently been very jumpy. If someone comes into the room Smudge immediately runs and hides, and then asks to go outside as soon as possible. Any sudden movements and Smudge is gone in a flash, waiting at the nearest door to go outside. He never used to have issues like this, and I'm wondering if maybe he is losing his hearing and becoming more and more skittish about his surroundings due to this.

Is it worth bringing him for a vet check up regarding his hearing and change in behaviour? He's up to date with all vaccinations and is in great health otherwise.

Sorry for the long post!! Thanks in advance!

Mamanyt1953

Rules my home with an iron paw
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise