Stray rescue just had kittens; need a little advice

pixiestyx

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Sorry this is so long. This is my first time dealing with a pregnant cat. Here's some backstory: About 3 weeks ago, my mother-in-law found a cat on her doorstep. The cat looked very well taken care of, but didn't have a collar or any identification. MIL assumed she had been abandoned by someone and asked my husband if we wanted to take her in. We said sure, and everything seemed fine. We did post to see if anyone had lost her and was maybe looking for her, but no one ever came forward to claim her. So we decided we'd keep her, name her, and just make her our newest family member. This morning, I went looking for her (she likes to hang out in random areas of the house) and found her tucked in a corner of my son's room with two kittens. She seemed content and was nursing them, so I prepared a "nest" for her to relax in and keep her babies in. It's been about 10-11 hours since I found her, but I'm not sure when, exactly, she had her kittens. They were already cleaned and nursing when I discovered her, and there were no signs she had even given birth (no placenta, no mess anywhere, etc). She's been moving her kittens around the room; they've been in the box with blankets I set up for her, on a blanket on the floor, and even in my son's box of stuffed animals. She's licking them and nursing them and seems normal. She does like to leave for small periods of time and lounge in another room, but she always goes back to her kittens. She's also more vocal now; she's been meowing at me whenever I'm up and about, making me go back to the room her kittens are in. Once I'm in there, she chirps at me and lays with them. Is this normal? She's been eating a little, and has used her litter box, but I did notice when she's nursing, she seems like she may be panting. Is that normal? Could she maybe have another in there? She doesn't feel like she does (her belly seems soft and saggy now), but I w