Stray kitten-please help !!!

Ellie5010ml

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi! My name is Ellie and I'm new to this forum. I'm a college student and dog person by trade but have taken care of a cat before as a result of a lost family member. That cat was a senior with a terminal senior when I acquired him and died in August only a few months after moving in with me. I've been cat free since but still have the fancy litter box, toys, carrier, et cetera.

The other day I was on a walk and found a small, stray kitten shivering and crying against a little ledge. My roommate and I managed to catch her to bring her inside. We live in Ohio by the lakes where it is freezing and raining/snowing constantly around this time of year. She is old enough to eat real food. We cleaned out the old cats carrier, put in a clean blanket, small amounts of food and water, and then let her rest in there in the dark for a few hours. I also gave her a gentle bath in the sink last night to get the mud and crusts out of her fur that she definitely couldn't get herself. No fleas, ticks, or signs of rabies. She's let me cuddle and hold her and even purred through it but I'm worried she could be lethargic. She's spent most of her time hiding but has been willing to eat out of my hand. There's no posts about her on any lost pet boards, no collar and her nails obviously haven't been trimmed, but she does seem well fed and comfortable being handled. She's sneezing and has running nose/eyes. How concerned should I be? I've scheduled a vet visit tomorrow at 4:00 PM to make sure she is ok but I could go in sooner as an emergency patient. I think it's some upper respiratory infection but I have no idea how serious those are with such small cats.

Anyone know what to do? After contacting local shelters (which are all full) it looks like she'll be staying with us for a while and I want to make sure she is comfortable, safe, and healthy. We will be sure to do right by her. Thanks!