Store Screwed Up

weebeasties

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm annoyed. I was very excited to finally purchase a bedroom dresser and chest today. The salesman got the items from the stockroom and helped load them on our truck. (They are in boxes and VERY heavy.)
When we got home and started to unload, I look at the item description on the box and see that he loaded the wrong dresser.
I immediately called them and they said to bring it back tomorrow and they will exchange for the correct one.
I realize we all make mistakes, but this is an extra 60 mile round trip in my old gas guzzler truck. It is costing me money and I didn't even get an apology.
Would it be wrong of me to ask for something for the inconvenience? Like a $10 gift card for their store or something? How would I even ask for that? I'm not good at confrontation.
I guess I should just let it go. It just hurts that I agonized for months over whether to spend money for this purchase and now it has ended with me paying even more.
Sigh...well it made me feel better to vent. And the bright side is tomorrow I will have my very first brand new dresser and chest. :D

Kat0121

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I'm annoyed. I was very excited to finally purchase a bedroom dresser and chest today. The salesman got the items from the stockroom and helped load them on our truck. (They are in boxes and VERY heavy.)
When we got home and started to unload, I look at the item description on the box and see that he loaded the wrong dresser.
I immediately called them and they said to bring it back tomorrow and they will exchange for the correct one.
I realize we all make mistakes, but this is an extra 60 mile round trip in my old gas guzzler truck. It is costing me money and I didn't even get an apology.
Would it be wrong of me to ask for something for the inconvenience? Like a $10 gift card for their store or something? How would I even ask for that? I'm not good at confrontation.