Spay surgery incision question

Katherine Gomez

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello everyone 👋
I am new here so I’m hoping I’m doing this right and I’m able to get some peace of mind. I rescued a stray cat and got her spayed last week Thursday January the 18th. It’s 5 days now and this is what her incision looks like. Does it look normal? I’m new to having a cat and it’s midnight where I live so just want to ease my mind a little. I will be calling where I got her spayed in the morning.

Attachments

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
It looks normal to me! there is bound to be redness and even a little swelling, she has trauma to her inside. The main thing to watch for is spreading redness, and drainage. A little clear liquid, maybe mixed with a little blood is fine, any drainage that is thick, opaque, yellow, white, or green, is not good. One thing I always look for in cats to judge their health is how they are acting. if she is acting pretty normal, (maybe sleeping a little more) using the litter box, eating and drinking, everything is fine. If she develops a fever she will most likely stop eating. It is not unusual for them to lose their appetite for a few days following a spay, tempt her with lickable treats, like Delectable Lickables in the stew flavors. So far so good! PS if you have doubt you can always take in a few pictures or send them to the vet.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Katherine Gomez

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise