Socializing Feral Kitten

girlmom4

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Okay so after finding the litter of hidden kittens three weeks ago, I finally was able to trap the first of them. It is seven weeks old, has been eating wet and dry food for a couple of weeks now and is scared of me but used to my presence.
It is now in my laundry room. I’ve been watching videos and reading articles and I feel like I know some things and yet now that it is here, I’m scared I won’t be able to do this.

I have chicken baby food ready for spoon feeding, and I know to swaddle it snugly. How often should I feed? What if it won’t let me hold it for several days?

Wish me luck in catching the other kitten ASAP so mama can be spayed quickly.

EmersonandEvie

Mom to Evie, Emerson and Dexter
Top Cat
Purraise
I'm by no means an expert, but I have quasi-socialized a few of my mom's semiferals. She has a small colony of 5, 3 of which will allow me to touch them regularly. The other two (one of which needs spaying...grr) will come within maybe six feet but no more, and only if there is food being offered.

I made it clear that I am "good." I took them their food, I talked softly to them. When I put their food down, I immediately sat down and let them approach me on their own. In the very beginning when everyone was wary, I stayed for maybe a minute, all while talking softly, before slowly getting up and going inside so they could eat. No quick movements.

Now, one of the will let me approach her while she is on the porch and will love on me/allow me to pet her, though no holding. The other two will approach if they want to and love to be scratched on. However if I move too quickly, they all take off. It just takes time and patience. This kitten is quite young so I hope he will warm up to you quickly. Thanks for taking this family in!!!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

girlmom4

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise