Sick queen with cat flu, now seriously ill kitten

ksimpson456

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My female cat had gotten pregnant, then just a few weeks caught cat flu from one of our other cats who goes outside. I tried so hard to separate them but ultimately failed. I was hoping she’d hold off on giving birth until it cleared up but she had her litter of four just 5 days ago. One of the boys is now seriously ill, just overnight. Stuffy congested nose, eye discharge, but he seems to be having difficulty breathing as well. He’s almost gasping for air, and won’t latch to feed. I don’t know what to do, do i try and hand rear him myself? I have no experience with it and worry about feeding if he can’t even latch onto a nipple. But i don’t want to put him back in the box with the others because of increased infection rates. I’m just so worried none of them will make it, if the queen is still actively sick? I assume they’ll all end up catching it right? Is there any chance of survival? Any information/advice would be greatly appreciated, i am so concerned. I wish i could afford to take them all to the vet but sadly i can’t right now. Thanks.

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
The one having trouble breathing, immediately take to a vet. He or she will help you out how to take care of the other cats. Emergency vets are open so give a call. Keep all the cats inside in separate rooms. Good luck! For litter boxes,if you immediately need one,use any box

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
I agree that the kitten needs a vet. It sounds like he may need antibiotics; mom too.