Sick Feral Cat; Need Advice, Please

Miss_Kitty_Noir

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi! I have been caring for a cat on my rural Michigan property for about 2 or 3 years now. I believe he was born outdoors and has lived outdoors his whole life. I don't believe he has ever lived inside a home with people. It has taken me years to build a relationship with him. I am happy to say that we have cultivated a very friendly relationship. His name is The Lorax, Lorrie for short. He comes when I call him and he rolls at my feet. He even knows a trick. If I say "head bump" and hold my hand out, he will come over and give my hand a bump with his head.

He is welcome to come in. I want to adopt him. He is still scared of my other family members, despite the fact that they occasionally feed him and speak gently to him. I keep welcoming him indoors and if he ever decides he wants to stay, he is welcome. For now, he usually lasts indoors for less than one minute. He gets very scared by any movement. If I move, he leaves. If I have closed the door, he claws it desperately trying to get out. I always open it for him. I don't want to make him feel like he is trapped in my house.

Anyhow, I notice this winter that his eyes are runny and so is his nose. He sneezes quite a bit, and they are wet sneezes that spray me when I am sitting next to him. When he drinks, he always makes a little choking noise with the first sip and then drinks normally with no noises.

I am really worried about him. I want to help him. I know I should take him to the vet. Money is somewhat of an issue, but it's not the main thing holding me back. I guess after years spent building his trust I am dreading trapping him and taking him to a vet. I have seen him get so terrified in my house by simple things such as a cupboard being opened, I just know he is going to panic at the vet. I am also worried that he might run away when we get back and he has a good situation here. I don't want to mess it up.