Should Phosphorus be reduced for healthy senior kitty?

yelloweyes

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Our cat, Roxy, died with kidney disease two years ago (almost exactly 2 years, actually). At the time, I started learning about what some nutritional red flags to look for are, but too slowly, and to late to help Roxy as much I would have wished.

Now that Jasper is getting older and is still healthy (we think) at age 14, I just want to pay attention. I want to see what you folks think about phosphorus levels in cat food. When Roxy was sick, we were advised by our vet to look for food that had low phosphorus - as low as possible, pretty much.

But here's my question: Is there some benefit to lowering phosphorus in food for a healthy older cat? Would it help to prevent kidney problems from developing? Is it not even worth worrying about unless a problem develops? Would it even be beneficial (or harmful) for our healthy 3 year old cat to be on that same food?

We feed them mostly dry food (measured) with a canned food "snack," and multiple stations for drinking water.

*Roxy is pictured in my avatar

Last edited:

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi. I personally do not think that feeding a cat who is not having issues a low phosphorus food will necessarily stop kidney disease from developing, or even slow down the development. Nonetheless, 'regular' food lower in phosphorus, that still contains a good level of protein, can't hurt anything in an older cat. But, feeding them canned food and not dry would also be a good idea. I would not give a healthy 3 yo cat lower phosphorus foods until they were older - just my opinion. Although it is more applicable to kittens, younger cats need more phosphorus in their diets than older cats do.

Have you looked at this web site to get an idea of some of the 'regular' foods that have lower phosphorus levels?
Tanya's Comprehensive Guide to Feline Chronic Kidney Disease- Canned Food Data USA (felinecrf.org)