Should I toilet train my cat?

smile123

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Should I start toilet training my cat? There seems to be a lot of controversy about this, so I decided to ask on here. She poops and pees regularly in her litter box and it is already in the bathroom. if you have tried it, is it worth the effort?

molly92

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have no experience with it myself. The one ethical concern I do know about is that if your cat has access to the outdoors has caught any rodents in the past few months, there's a chance they could be carrying the toxoplasmosis parasite which is shed in feces, and if it's flushed, it can get into the streams and rivers and infect animals that do not handle it as well as cats. I think otters are the main species at risk. (It's also the reason pregnant women are warned to stay away from cat litter boxes.) It takes about 2 weeks after a cat has been infected to start shedding eggs, and then that only lasts for another 2 weeks, so if it's been a couple of months since possible exposure it's not likely the cat feces poses a threat to the environment.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

smile123

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
My cat does have access to the outdoors but on,y when she is walked on a leash, could she have toxoplasmosis?

Geoffrey

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
My cat does have access to the outdoors but on,y when she is walked on a leash, could she have toxoplasmosis?
Smile 123,

I am a human physician, not a veterinarian, but I understand that Toxoplasmosis Gondii eggs are transmitted by eating infected small mammals or faecally infected meat and this is most unlikely when the cat is on the leash.

With regards,

Geoffrey

belochka

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise