Semi- Feral 1 Year Old

Jennifercook

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have been feeding a colony of community cats for about ten months. I have two of the cats that allow me to pet them and pick them up and hold them. I recently brought in one of them because she was peeing blood. I took her to the vet and discovered she has a bladder infection. So I am giving her antibiotics once a day. I have convinced my mom to give her a furever home since I can’t have anymore kitties. Will she adjust well to living with other cats? Will it take her a while to get used to my mom and dad?

She is doing well in my bedroom right now. I am keeping her separated from my cats for the moment. When they first saw each other they would hiss back and forth. I’m just worried that I am going to drive her all the way to my parents house and then she won’t get along with them or their resident cats
Also, my parents are going to take in brother semi-feral baby that I can pet and hold. Do you think having him with her will help with the transition?

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
If the two cats you are bringing from the colony are friendly with each other, then that will help them to adjust. As far as getting along with your parents others cats it all just depends. Proper cat to cat introductions should be done and this can take time. The new cats will need a place of their own. If you use a bedroom be careful of the cats getting under the bed and hiding or getting stuck behind large furniture. You want them out in the open.

Once you bring them to your parents, the cats will need time to adjust to inside living and your parents before any contact between the other cats should be attempted. So don't be discouraged if at first the cats are very afraid of their new surroundings and your parents.