Second Kitten

momotyler

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone, I need some opinions on whether adopting another kitten is a good idea. 

I have a 6 month old male kitten named Mew that is super sweet and loves attention, but dang it seems like he has unlimited energy. Of course I know he is a kitten and that is normal, but I'm wondering if I'm playing with him enough. I am a college student and am at class for most of the day, and when I am home I have to spend a lot of time on homework. I still play with him twice a day at the least for at least 20 minutes a session, but I don't think that is enough. Would getting another kitten help him to stay entertained and to expend some energy throughout the day? 

Another thing to consider is that I have a 7 year old chihuahua mix named Bella that is very timid around other animals. She is absolutely terrified of other dogs, but seems to do alright with Mew; she pretty much just ignores him most of the time. However, I think that is because I received Mew when he was only 4 weeks old, and she sensed that he was a baby and accepted him. I don't know how she would react to me bringing in another kitten, especially one that is around Mew's age and is much faster and more coordinated than Mew was when she met him. I went to the spca and they have some 3 month old kittens which I think she would be ok with since they're so young, but then would Mew be too rough with them based on the age difference?

I should also add that Mew does pounce on Bella sometimes when he is really wound up; would another kitten distract both of them from messing with her, or would they both mess with her? I know that I won't really know how they will act until I get another kitten, but do you guys have any opinions on that?