Scared of the litter box?? Please help...

catsaremyworld

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I wasnt sure where to post this but here goes....so my 7 month kitty acts deathly afraid of the litter box he wont even let me put him in there. hes scratched me a couple freaking out i have a litter box with a hood and without a hood. Ive tried different litter but nothing is helping he acts like its water! Ive never had this problem with a cat before so i dont know what to do its driving me crazy. [emoji]128547[/emoji][emoji]128547[/emoji] ive also had since since he was a couple weeks old ive had this problem since i started training him. Please help.....

mollyblue

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Hi, I think a little more information might be needed. 

You say he has scratched you a couple times freaking out so is it safe to assume the cat has NOT been declawed?

You said you have had the cat since it was a couple weeks old and that this issue has been happening since you started training.  Please elaborate. What training method are you using? 

Are the kittys potty habits normal?  by normal I mean there is no constipation or urinary infections?  Has the kitty seen a vet?  The first thing I would want to rule out is to make sure it is not a medical issue.  If your kitty is experience pain in the litter box, they will avoid it. 

Are you a multicat household?  Is there another cat or dog or young child or any threat that stalks your kitty so he is afraid of getting trapped in there?

You said you have multiple litter boxes, are they placed in different locations?  Is there something about the current location that scares the kitty?

betsygee

Just what part of meow don't you understand.
Staff Member
Purraise
Aw, poor little guy.  Where does your kitty pee and poop now if he won't use the litter box?

talkingpeanut

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Also, please describe the type of litter and litter box you are using.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

catsaremyworld

TCS Member