Raw Diet......

negs

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Does anyone feed their cat a raw diet???? I have been doing soem research on this topic and I was wondering if there is anyone out there who does this?????

avocado

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
i do! sometimes i feed my cats a pre-made raw but recently i have been making my own.. them a mixture of ground meat and organs and bones and suppliments. i believe that there are several people here who feed raw... i am new to raw cat feeding myself so i am still in the transitional stage of raw breakfast and canned commercial catfood for dinner. but i have been feeding my dogs raw for quite some time. my dogs have benefited so much that it just seemed natural (ha-ha) to switch the cats.

fatkitties

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I don't, and won't. I feel like feeding them raw meat puts more opportunities for bacteria like salmonella and e. coli to be around my house. I know they won't get sick from it, but I feel like that would make it present in my house in more places than just the kitchen counter, not to mention, actually in thier mouths. Aside from that, raw meat is how cats get toxoplasmosis (don't know if I spelled that right, the thing you can get from handling dirty litter, anyways). The heat from cooking kills it, but it definitley can be present in raw meat.
I think feeding a high quality dry cat food is the safest route. I don't feed raw to my dogs, either. Not to mention my vet is very much against raw feeding.

Amber

katielv

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise