Question of the Day - Tuesday, August 23

cassiopea

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hey Everyone! Happy Tuesday!

What's something your into that people give you grief for liking?

Funny enough, ballet. During my preteen and teens I as often bullied for liking and doing ballet, since everyone believed in the stereotype that it was girly and frilly (When it is actually incredibly challenging and athletic) so for a while I would actually hide it.

Nowadays I don't hide it at all, but I will still regularly get comments like these after being asked what I do for a living or like to watch on stage "Oh my god NO like Black Swan???" "How boring" "Oooo can you go on your tippy toes or spin?" "Wow I thought ballerinas only eat celery" "Your feet must look horrible" "Cool and all but I prefer contemporary/jazz/hip hip etc *continues on and on for ten minutes to explain why*" "Why would you want to watch glorified miming in tights" "Dance is easy/isn't a sport" "Oh cute, where is your tutu?" "I prefer Musical Theatre, ballet is so dry and stodgy"

Like...for crying out loud people :lol: Really it's "Things You Shouldn't Say to a Ballerina". All the while also saying certain comments without ever once seeing a performance. Or anything beyond The Nutcracker.

No one is obligated to like or love anything, that doesn't bother me, but at least be more courteous about it! Or make some sort of attempt to acknowledge, ask polite and appropriate questions or correct ignorance instead of blatant nonsense. Or simply keep your mouth shut. When a person does show appreciation for the art form/sport it really makes my day however!

(I also sometimes get grief from Americans for liking soccer)

-End Vent-

Kitty themed on behalf of the site:

And definitely not DRY or STODGY. Blends and varieties are so common!

MoochNNoodles

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise