Question of the Day: Sunday, May 1

gilmargl

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Sorry for posting so late - I was working - the final day of my training to be accepted as a voluntary helper with the local hospice movement. This supports people wishing to die in their own homes and not in a hospital.
It was a very interesting day but hard work and I am exhausted.

Today is also May Day or International Workers' Day. Here in Germany there are demonstrations organised by Trade Unions campaigning for higher wages and better conditions for the workers.

I have only once taken part in a demonstration and it was on May Day, a few years ago before Corona, when a group of us from the animal protection charity demonstrated against the conditions for animals and foreign labourers in slaughterhouses. It was an interesting experience and we received a lot of support along the route.

Have you ever taken part in a demonstration? What were you demonstrating for or against and did you enjoy it?

MonaLyssa33

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I haven't taken part of a demonstration, but I do wish I was the type of person who would or could willingly do it, but I hate crowds and get overwhelmed easily. I've definitely wanted to join the protests in my area for Black Lives Matter.
I belong to a union and my dad was a union organizer so unions run in my blood, and while I haven't had to strike, I think that is one thing I would actually actively support and be on the frontlines.

aliceneko

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I've taken part in a Black Lives Matter and Free Palestine online demonstration, and an Extinction Rebellion physical real life demonstration.

maggiedemi

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
No, I never have. I've boycotted products before, that's about it. I don't eat meat.

AbbysMom

At Abby's beck and call
Staff Member
Purraise
Just a reminder to all members that this is the Cat Lounge and not the In My Opinion forum and this is not the place for debate.