Question Of The Day. Saturday 28th Of April.

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Hi, Happy Saturday.

:hyper:

It's the first day of Golden Week in Japan. That's a long holiday for most people, but an even greater reason not to leave the house for me. This area is really popular with tourists and so many people come here to look at the lake and enjoy the scenery in the spring. I'm not good with crowds.....:paranoid:

What's the area you live in famous for?

We've got the lakes, lots of forests, caves, that big old volcano and some really picturesque old villages. There's also fruit picking, wine tasting, hiking, hand gliding and bird watching.

I guess I see why so many people want to come here on their days off.

kashmir64

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
The State (not my area though) has the Grand Canyon and Saguaro National Forest.
My area (some miles north) has the Painted Desert and the Petrified Forest.

cassiopea

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
- 1000 Islands. Throw in a castle, built by a husband in 1900 for his wife but the wife tragically died before it was completed. He would later abandon the property over heartbreak.
- Kingston Penitentiary Museum. Long history, with riots, serial killers etc some folks might have heard of Russell Williams, for example!
- Kingston in general was Canada's capital before Ottawa. Also the early residence of Sir John A McDonald, Canada's first prime minister. And, The Tragically Hip.
- Tulip Festival in Ottawa and lot's of other festivals, alongside places like Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal and some great huge military, art and nature museums.
- A tad farther away by a couple of hours, but Algonquin Park.
- Laurier House, home to Prime Ministers Wilfred Laurier and Mackenzie King.
- Diefenbunker Cold War Museum.
- Also a couple of Canada's oldest public outdoor markets
- Saunders Farm, and lot's of ghost walks and tours.
- Avril Lavigne was born nearby :lol: