question about cat with a super shiny coat?

screennametaken

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
So I adopted a 5 year old cat from a shelter where she was given up because she didn't do well sharing attention with other cats at her last home. I took her home and she's been so friendly and affectionate and has puppy energy even though she's a cat! I've put her on a diet to help her shed a couple pounds to get her down to her recommended weight. I have no idea what her background is but I just mailed in a DNA test to learn more about her health risks and I think they will also tell me about her background?

The question: Is her very shiny coat a result of some genetic thing from a distant relative or is this just what a super healthy coat should look like? I tried to get some photos. I've had cats before with healthy, shiny coats but hers is almost beyond that. It's super hard to take photos of cuz it kind of shines white and you can't really even see her patterns when she's in the sun. She's also ridiculously soft and doesn't shed much. I've never had a cat that is this soft and I love that she doesn't really shed because all of my previous cats shed like crazy so it's a nice change haha!

The DNA test is going to take 6-8 weeks to process and I'm just curious about this in the mean time because I wanted to get her on better food (I continued feeding her purina simply as the shelter told me her last owners fed her that) but if her coat is an indicator of health or that the food is a good match I would just keep her on the same dry food. She gets wet food as well and if her diet from outward appearances seems to be working I don't wanna switch it up too much!