Purina Pro Plan Dental Plus (adult cat)

lizallen

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My cat has some tartar on her back teeth and my vet recommended feeding her with Purina Pro Plan Dental Plus dry food. Do any of you feed this to your cat? If so, do you give it to the cat as a complete meal or as an addition to wet food?

Ta very much in advance.

EDIT: Just to mention that I'm gradually introducing it into her regular food so as not to upset her stomach.

Last edited:

lokhismom

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I'm no expert but based on everything I have read your vet is wrong.     Dry food does not clean teeth.   

Most cats don’t consistently chew dry food; they swallow it whole. Obviously, without contacting the teeth, there is zero effect on tartar accumulation. For cats who do chew dry food, whether consistently or occasionally, there is still little or no benefit. The kibbles shatter, so contact between the kibble and the teeth occurs only at the tips of the teeth. This is certainly not enough to make a difference in the formation of tartar and plaque, which most commonly builds up along (and underneath) the gumline at the base of the teeth.

Read more here http://www.littlebigcat.com/health/does-dry-food-clean-the-teeth/ 

I recently began brushing my 2 kitties teeth.  Amazon, Chewy.com they all sell special toothpaste and brushes for cats.

tI can be easy or a hassle depending on your cat.   I have one who readily accepts the brush and toothpaste and the other who doesn't like it so much but I still manage to get some of the toothpaste in his mouth.  The toothpaste has enzymes in it that help with the buildup, etc.   If you do a search on this site you'll find some recommendations on toothpaste 

Here are some from Amazon.  I've been using the CET brand

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...d-keywords=cat+toothpaste&tag=&tag=thecatsite

Last edited:

riley1

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise