Pregnant Stray Cat

AmberLoma

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have a stray cat that's very pregnant on who started to show up after I gave her some food. I can't bring her inside because I already have 2 cats (former strays) and 3 dogs. I set up a dog house with newspaper and water and food on my porch for her. She shows up at about 8 to eat and again around 5. Should I be feeding her more than twice? Is there anything more I can for her? She's very lovable I spend a lot of time Just showing her affection on the porch. I have noticed she doesn't go into her dog house barely. Will she use it when she's in labor? Any advice would be helpful. She's very swollen and her nipples are starting to get very pink and kind of swollen too. I've never dealt with a pregnant cat so I have no clue how pregnant she is! I'm assuming she's in her last couple weeks though.

desert82

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I'm not an expert and hopefully someone more experienced will be along soon but yes I would be feeding her more than that, she should have dry food available to her most the day and also eat wet food throughout the day as well. She needs a lot more calories than before. It also wouldn't hurt to give her a bowl of the powdered kmr a day either and also have some on.hand just in case you need it if she doesn't nurse for some reason. There is some really amazing kitten experts that will hopefully be on soon to help you out better.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Welcome! :wave3:

Is your porch screened in? It would be great if you could keep her on the porch.

She may have the kittens outside somewhere hard to find. Or she may need help during delivery and you won't be there if she goes off somewhere.

Do you have a spare room she could use for a few weeks even? Laundry room, garage, bathroom even?

Here are some helpful links:

Pregnant Cat? What To Prepare For The Birth

How Do I Know When My Cat Will Give Birth?

Help! My Cat Is Having Kittens!