Pregnant Foster Cat -- Advice please!

steviewonders

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all!

I recently starting fostering a pregnant mom, unknown gestation period... the rescue has no idea and has not offered ultrasound or X-ray to date the gestation or count the number of kittens...

Im trying to plan ahead on this pregnancy since I am a doctor and have to be at the hospital certain times (hoping she does not go into labor when I'm away...) ... from web searches it sounds like tell tale signs of imminent labor are ...
1) colostrum from nipples
2) yowling and nesting
3) temp change (I do not have a pet therm.)

she has neither of the applicable above

Babies are moving around in her belly quite actively!

any other signs??? thank you!

also at what point would the mammary glands develop? she has large nipples but that's about it

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter

steviewonders

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello there! more advice needed... spoke to rescue about this and the vets there said to watch and wait but wanted to run it by the community here....
so my foster kitty has some white-yellow-opaque discharge from her vaginal opening, the vagina is more open in general and appears like she might be in early stages of labor. Im concerned that the white fluid is secondary to a high neutrophil count (read infection! --> pyometria) but the vet says to wait it out (which I understand bc want to try vaginal birth first....
her rectal temp is 98F

I just moved her legs and a little more WHITE OPAQUE discharge came out....

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
It would be infection if it were consistently green or yellow. Her discharge sounds like normal pre-birth discharge. I agree - wait it out. It sounds like she’ll be having kittens soon.

Are you seeing contractions? They look like waves down her sides.

S steviewonders

steviewonders

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise