Polio Case

kashmir64

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I've been saying for many, many years...the reason a lot of diseases have been eradicated is only because everyone is vaccinated. This is no longer the case.
I'm waiting for smallpox to re-make an appearance. Hopefully I'm wrong, but I don't think so.

MoochNNoodles

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Its interesting that they can tell it was vaccine derived and not “wild” as the article called it. And that its not a vaccine we use here since 2000 so from someone who was vaccinated elsewhere.

Bri5

Seek justice, love mercy, walk humbly.
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Its interesting that they can tell it was vaccine derived and not “wild” as the article called it. And that its not a vaccine we use here since 2000 so from someone who was vaccinated elsewhere.
I don't recall the science of how they differentiate, but I do know I read Africa was declared free of wild polio years ago, but that in the past 5 or so, there has been an uptick in vaccine-derived polio in about a dozen African countries.

kashmir64

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I also have a question about how it was transmitted. Other than Johnny Depp, who in the U.S. has been close enough to someone else's feces to contract this disease?

Bri5

Seek justice, love mercy, walk humbly.
Alpha Cat
Purraise
There was a dad in the US years ago who was able to prove he got it from changing his kid's diapers after vaccination. Maybe a daycare worker or hospital janitor or missionary.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

denice

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I think given the normal ages when vaccination is given changing diapers would be the most common way of getting it.

Neko-chan's mama

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I also have a question about how it was transmitted. Other than Johnny Depp, who in the U.S. has been close enough to someone else's feces to contract this disease?