PLEASE HELP.

buglove007

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I took in a stray pregnant  cat she had her kittens a week ago,, the kittens seem fine but she doesn't. she is breathing really fast, laying without her kittens, she has blood in her poop throwing up and she went to the cat box but fell getting out. She looks like she is crying. I am taking her to the vet first thing tomorrow but need help now.

nora1

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
That doesn't sound good at all! I'm not an expert, but I would try to get her to drink!! You can also try canned tuna which should have a lot of "juice"/fluids if water doesn't interest her.

Do you have an emergency vet near you?

anne with cats

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Oh she might not have been in very good condition when she got to you! Those kittens are probably using up what reserves she still has! If you can get a stool sample, put it in a baggie. Are you increasing her food intake? Food with a lot of meat as first ingredient, or just some meat like chicken, beef whatever you have now. They sell some kind of pet milk for adult cats at pet store. I hope it is nothing more than worms, and vet can determine from that point tomorrow. She could be getting dehydrated, especially if you are only/mostly feeding dry food. Hopefully Catwoman or Stefanz and several others that are more familiar with mamas and babies will come online soon. Are the kittens getting enough food? Do you see a lot of fleas?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

buglove007

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
It got worse. She won't stand up her eyes look like she is dizzy. I am at the emergency vet now I'll keep updated.

anne with cats

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hoping dehydration is the culprit - they will give fluids and any other antibiotics necessary. Sorry you had to go ER vet, but they are usually very good, at least when I have needed late night services. Please keep us posted! There are a lot of night owls on this site, besides international members.