Orphaned Kitten Help

Shananna

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I am new to the blog, and I am new ro cat-care as well, so I don't know much about how all these things work (sorry for that).
So I adopted it a few days ago. The mother was a stray cat and gave birth really close to my house. After a while she left and didn't come back for days, she abandoned them. Sadly, this one is the only one that survived, so I took the responsobility of taking care of it.
I am feeding it goat milk since formulas are not available here but the vet said it is fine. It eats about three times a day and sleeps a lot (15-20 hours). After feeding she seems playful and walks around the room (it still crawls and walks really wobbly). I try to make her poo/pee but sadly she just pees. Since I got her she hasn't pooed. The belly seems bigger right after eating which I think is normally and gets normal a while later.
I am concerned about her constantly sucking on my hands even after being fed.

Please give me advice.
Thank you,
Ana.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Shananna

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
About a week old. But is sleeps a lot. Shall I wake it up in order to feed it? I know that the feeding schedule is every 2 hours but it sleeps :(

kashmir64

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Doesn't matter if s(he's) asleep. Wake it up. It may be older than you think if it's wobbling. Are the eyes open? Ears up or still curled down? Make sure you have a heating pad on low or a hot water bottle covered with a towel for warmth. At this age they cannot regulate their own body heat. Can you weigh it? Show pictures and we can asses the situation better.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Shananna Shananna

Yes, wake the kitten to feed it every 2 hours.

Can you give us the kitten's weight? Weigh with a kitchen scale in grams. The kitten needs to gain 6-10 grams per day. I can tell you how much to feed if I know the weight.

How many mLs have you been feeding at a time?