One Last Shelter Cat - Could I get your opinion?

shelterhelper

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Thank you for responding to my picture of our shelter's little Siamese mix boy.  I will certainly go with your suggestions!

We have one other kitty that I'm unsure of how to describe for the Petfinder.com listing. 

This gorgeous girl is definitely part seal point Siamese.  However, her fur is very long, is light underneath and dark (almost black) on top.  I'm no cat expert like you folks.  But even I can tell she's not Himalayan, as her face doesn't look Persian at all.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out.  I'm trying very hard to find no-kill shelters or homes for all our cats, whether exotic looking or not.  None of our kitties 
is "common" to me. 

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
I would spontaneously call her for a Birman ("holy birman") look alike.  Who knows, she may even be a birman for real, although without papers.

Good luck!

orientalslave

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Birmans have white feet.  I don't know SLH breeds that well to compare her with one, but she is certainly a seal-point domestic longhair.  She's nothing like a Persian in so many ways - coat texture, face shape, ear size, and she looks quite long in the leg.

She could well be what happens when a Siamese has donated to the local gene pool, several generations down the line, but who knows?

maewkaew

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
No kitty is common! but if you can get some of the ones like this adopted soon , or into breed rescues that may help the OTHER kitties too.
This Seal Point girl is gorgeous!

She can't be a Birman because she hasn't got white paws. Birmans have a white gloving gene.

I doubt she is one specific breed, though a pet quality Ragdoll might not be impossible. You could say is "Ragdoll" or "Ragdoll mix". Especially if she is large. Ragdolls can come either with or without white.