Omega-3 vs cod liver oil and a question on the B complex.

hersheys mom

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I am currently feeding Hershey Rose raw that I made (catinfo recipe). I add vitamin E and liver to the chicken, along with the taurine and salt, etc. However, my girls don't like the smelly salmon oil, so I am looking for a substitute. I am new to raw feeding, and have heard of vitamin overdosing your cat, especially vitamin A. I read the label on the cod liver oil and it has vitamin A in it, the Omega-3 oil does not.

I was reading a thread that had a recipe, or maybe it was a recipe linked to a thread, where it said do not use cod liver oil. I have just gotten cod liver oil for pets, my healthy food pantry swears by it. The company that makes it, Nordic Naturals, also makes Omega-3 Pet which has no odor which they will like. The salmon oil I used in my homemade made my cats run for their rooms! Stinky! The Omega-3 analysis is 1000 mg fish oil - crude fat 67%, Total Omega3 fatty acid 21%, EPA 10%, DHA 6 %.  The cod liver oil is EPA 8%, DHA 11%. Since the girls don't like the stinky fish oil, and there is no way I can afford the krill oil (but I'm still searching the net in case), which one would you recommend? I didn't look at the contents of the salmon oil before I returned it, I didn't have my magnifying glass with me (the writing is really small).

Also, I can't seem to find a B-Complex that has a doseage on it. It also contains vitamin C (300 mg) and 182 mg of various B vitamins per pill (mostly niacin 50 mg and calcium 52 ng). I am adding bone meal as my grinder won't do bones, so I would think they are getting enough calcium. Any suggestions? PLEASE???

Lei-Ann

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Definitely don't use cod liver oil:

http://feline-nutrition.org/answers/answers-why-not-use-cod-liver-oil