Olly Turned

rach&olly

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi as some of you know im really new to this whole owning a cat thing Olly is our first cat.

He is now 14 weeks the couple of days he seems to have completly changed personality and gone from the sweet playful boy to an outrite pshyco that yyou cant even pet without him going for you. for example this evening i sat on the floor to give him a stroke and he got hiis claws either side of my leg and went to bite me im so worrid hes gonna gget one of the kids..

he literally just looks like hes constantly gonna pounce so ive stopped the kids petting himm at the moment and just playing with him with him feather on a stick toy which when he gets he literally looks like he is gnna kill.

i understand that he is a baby and is playful but this is more than playfull i think

any help much appreciated??

also he cant seem to move across you withougt getting his claws out and scrathing my leg up!!

rad65

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
This is 100% normal kitten behavior. When kittens get overstimulated, they start clawing and biting. That is a common problem with cats, they don't want to be touched once they have been overstimulated and they will bite and claw to show it.

Also, a kitten that young is just learning what claws are for and how to use them. That explains why he cant move across you without clawing.

He needs to have his energy sapped constantly, as kitten are basically pure bundles of energy. Play with him at least half an houra day and he will calm down a bit. You should strap yourself in, because from 3 - 6 months they are holy terrors.

punkypurrbottom

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Take an adult sized sock, cut an oblong piece of cardboard to fit in it, then stuff on both sides of the piece of cardboard til it's packed pretty well and sprinkle in some cat nip, then sew the top of the sock over and throw to the kitten.