Newly adopted cat hissing

stephcb

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi. I adopted a cat today and it's my first time adopting an adult cat. I had my first cat from the time he was a kitten. This cat (the only one in our home) came home only this morning. His previous owners had him declawed unfortunately. He's hiding in his safe room under the bed with food on one side of the room and his litter box on the other side. He's used the litter box but hasn't eaten or had any water in the last 12 hours. Whenever we try to get into the room he will hiss and charge at us. He hits our legs with his paws which doesn't hurt obviously. But we back off and leave him alone. The only thing I'm worried about is my son who is 3 and keeping a safe distance since he was hissed at. Is our new cat likely to bite since it's the only way he'd have to defend himself? And what is a realistic time frame in which to expect some changes in his behaviour? He came out to visit onice today but attacked and went back under the bed.

red top rescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise