New To Home Cooked Food

Khrad

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi there! I'm new to home cooked meals. I can't really do any raw because of young kids in the house so I was thinking about cooked. Not ready for my own supplements yet so I was thinking about trying Balance IT the carnivore blend. I was planning to cook the meat in a pressure cooker and separate the broth once cooked. Then at every feeding use the ground-up meat and add in some warmed up broth (my cats like their food a little warm) and add that with the balance it and feed it that way. However I noticed on the balance it website that they discourage using the drippings, is it because of the fat or would it be an overdose of nutrients? I wanted to use the drippings instead of the oil that theyre suggesting. Any help is very appreciated as I am very confused and I just want to do what's best for my cats! Thanks in advance.

lisahe

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Welcome to The Cat Site, Khrad!

I'm not familiar with Balance IT but wanted to say that it sounds a bit odd to me that they recommend throwing away the drippings. I use the EZ Complete supplement with cooked meat and EZ is very definite about being sure to use the drippings because of the nutrients. That Balance IT recommend using oil sounds even odder to me: that's vegetable-based and cats are generally better at handling animal-based ingredients, like the fat on meat. I can understand why you're confused! I'd want to use the drippings, too.

What page on their site were you looking at? I did some quick searching and found their site a bit confusing. I also saw their "Autobalancer" page and clicked through on one protein and see that they include recipes with very high carbs. I would definitely stay away from those, in favor of meat and supplement only, no vegetables or grains.

If you're looking into various supplements, I'll add that our cats love EZ Complete and Alnutrin is another popular supplement among Cat Site members' cats.